Icon depicting advisory and task group structure.

Introducing CorHealth Ontario’s New Advisory and Task Group Structure

CorHealth Ontario, in collaboration with our many colleagues in the system across the province, have been working on a redesign of our Advisory and Task Group Structure that reflects our expanded mandate: cardiac, stroke and vascular.

When fully implemented, the new Advisory and Task Group Structure will enable us to engage our experts and partners in the system in a collaborative and transparent way across our clinical domains and the full continuum of care.

CorHealth Ontario is pleased to share with you an overview of the newly-imagined Advisory and Task Group Structure. The redesign is intended to streamline the committees and working group structure, and allowing CorHealth Ontario to set priorities and achieve our mandate as efficiently and effectively as possible.

At the new model’s core are three new Leadership Councils – one for each of our clinical domains, cardiac, stroke and vascular. The Leadership Councils will identify and recommend improvement opportunities to CorHealth Ontario and ensure alignment between the organization and the health system.

In June, CorHealth Ontario made a province-wide call for expressions of interest for each Council and we received an overwhelming number of applications from leaders across Ontario.

“It was a truly remarkable response from interprofessional leaders who span the full continuum of care,” said Ms. Sheila Jarvis, Interim CEO of CorHealth Ontario. “We are excited for their expert contributions under the Chairs of the three Councils and are deeply grateful to those who not only believe in our mandate, but put their names forward to work alongside us as we strive to realize our vision of the best cardiac, stroke and vascular care for all Ontarians.”

Selection of membership for the Councils was challenging as we sought to create balanced representation of clinical expertise, system administration, organization and geography. Three leaders in cardiac, stroke and vascular care were selected to Chair their respective Leadership Council:

  • Cardiac Chair: Dr. Madhu Natarajan, Director, Hamilton-Niagara Integrated Heart Investigation Unit at Hamilton Health Sciences/Niagara Health System
  • Stroke Chair: Dr. Leanne Casaubon, Stroke Neurologist, Toronto Western Hospital – University Health Network
  • Vascular Chair: Dr. Sudhir Nagpal, Chief of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery at The Ottawa Hospital

Click here to view the list of members for the Leadership Councils.

As priorities are identified by the Councils and CorHealth Ontario that require further stakeholder input, new time-limited task groups will be struck. We look forward to engaging many more experts across Ontario to lend their specialized expertise to a task group.

More September 2018 Articles: